It’s Been Too Long!

Wow, I can’t believe how much time has flown by since I last updated on here! I haven’t really posted much other than baby milestones for 2012 – and even then I didn’t manage to complete the full 12 months! ;) So far this year has been full of ups and downs for our family; it certainly has been busy!

I guess the biggest thing is that we moved to a bigger property in April. We had quickly outgrown our little townhome – because of the kids as well as my husband’s home business! Now we have a lot more space to work with. My husband has been building a garage workshop – all by himself! – since May, and will hopefully have that done by the end of the year.

My husband and I took up riding too! In his case he went with a motorcycle, and I finally decided to give horseback riding a shot! We have both been enjoying ourselves immensely with our new hobbies. It certainly is a great stress relief and break away from home. :) I am eager to become a good rider and possibly even enter some shows!

The kids are growing up fast! Logan is really into playing pretend these days. He has taken to Blue’s Clues like you wouldn’t believe, and loves to build me ‘letters’ from the mailbox out of his Lego Mega Bloks. He also creates lots of Piston Cups out of Lego too, inspired by the movie Cars back when he was watching it once a day! It’s amazing seeing him watch these shows now. Before he just didn’t have the attention span for it, but now he is able to follow the story! Logan’s communication skills are improving day by day too. He really is a chatterbox, but he can talk so fast you miss most of what he’s saying – he’s still got the ‘Loganese’ accent, haha. I can remember the exact moment Logan and I had our first back and forth interaction, too. I had passed Logan a drink without saying anything to him as I was preoccupied with washing the dishes. He looked at it and said “What’s this?” and I looked up and replied, “That’s apple juice!” Logan was grinning from ear to ear after that, as he had asked a question and understood my answer. “Apple juice.” he whispered to himself, still smiling. Since then he is always trying to initiate conversations, asking me “What’s this, Mumma?” and “What are you doing, Mumma?” My little man!

Jake is growing by leaps and bounds too! He started walking at the end of May! Ran towards daddy after he had been gone all day at one of his motorcycle training classes. Jake is so quick now, you really have to keep an eye on him. He can be there one minute and gone the next, and of course he will head to the most dangerous location he can find, too! He is a smart cookie, and cheeky to boot! With his slowly shifting eyes, going from what naughty thing he knows he shouldn’t be getting into over to mum and dad to make sure we are watching his bad behaviour! I am amazed by how much he understands of what we say to him too. “We’re going to the car, let’s get our shoes!”, “Are you ready for bedtime?” (always followed by an emphatic head-shake), and being able to point to something, like his pacifier, and say “There’s your sucky” and he will eagerly follow my finger to see where I’m pointing.

Logan was very different to Jakey as a baby. There wasn’t much social interaction between us, and he didn’t understand a lot of what I said until I physically showed him. He preferred that I did things for him too, and didn’t show an interest in taking the initiative himself. Jake, on the other hand, wants to use the spoon himself, wants to put on his own shoes, and helps me to dress him. Even today dressing Logan is like putting clothes on a wet noodle, bahaha. Jake also happens to be very clingy – another phase Logan didn’t go through – always wanting to be in our arms, doesn’t like to be left on his own. He gives so many kisses and hugs you’d just melt! Logan was (and still is) very self-sufficient when it comes to keeping himself entertained and being able to play on his own. He’s also an absolute genius when it comes to figuring out how things work and being able to operate them himself!! Once he finds something to occupy his attention, he can be into it for hours! Another thing is that Jake is still nursing too, and only eats a select few solid foods: yogurt, pizza crusts, and breakfast sausages. ..Yup. Logan ate healthy portions of a variety of solid foods as soon as we started feeding them to him, and self-weaned at 14 months. Jake is almost 18 months old and I am still getting up at least 3x a night to top him up! It is amazing how different these two kids are!

Logan is back at nursery school again this year (I cannot believe he will be in grade school next September!!!). He will also be taking soccer again for the fall/winter as he loved it so much during the summer months. Jake joins Logan at nursery school on Fridays for a ‘Mommy & Me’ class too, which he just loves! They both run in and make sure to position themselves as far from me as possible… thanks guys! Haha.

So I think that summarizes where we are at these days! I will try to update more often now that we are finally settling into a steady routine.

Leave a Reply

